Vlogging with ‘The Sun.’

Hey dolls,

Hope you’re all well? I have had the worst cold all week. I have tried everything, from Lemon and Ginger tea’s daily, working out in the gym, to hot soaks in the bath (tmi) yet I still have this unshakeable cold. When I got sick before having Lolo I could call in sick at work, lounge around, scoff my face with crisps and chocolate bars, how the mighty have fallen. Now with my colds I still have to cook, clean, work and look after my little princess, which is not easy. Please cold just leave me alone.

Last week I experienced THE BEST opportunity with a good friend of mine. Zeruiah is another young mummy to a beautiful princess, and we were filming videos for ‘The Sun’s’ social media pages. Can you imagine, ‘THE SUN!!’ The videos were discussing the highs, and lows of motherhood. Honestly I was taken aback when, I initially received an email regarding the opportunity, what really shook me was receiving the “Call Sheet!!!” eek. I had never seen one or heard of one before, I was literally googling what it meant. Our call sheet included details of the venue, and the time we were required for filming.

On the day we arrived at the News Office in London Bridge and I couldn’t believe it was actually happening. At the plush office reception, we met the producers for the day. The producers were extremely friendly and really encouraging. So we got a mini tour of the offices and saw different studios, and I spotted Ian Wright. My brother is a huge Arsenal fan and I was a bit star struck, all for a minute then kind of got a hold of myself.


The studio was really cute and we started discussing topics that we may discuss during filming. We were both given mics and I got excited thinking I was on an episode of, Big Brother with my mic on my waist. As you can already tell I haven’t really been in a studio, apart from when I went onto Big Brother’s Little Brother as part of the audience years ago. I’ve never really had a camera focused on me, apart from when I’m taking selfies or on Facetime, but I’ve never been filmed talking and laughing. I find it super weird hearing my own voice on, a voice note let alone seeing myself in a video on the internet.


At ‘The Sun’ we filmed for about two hours, we spoke about different mummy hacks. Our main topics were Breast feeding, weaning, travelling out and about in London and the things we have learnt since becoming mothers. It was set in a sitting room with a colourful sofa, and cushions which added to the relaxed environment.  The theme for the day was two young mummies, having a conversation about their experiences thus far. The rules were no swearing and to be as natural as possible!

The producers were not actually in the room whilst we filmed, but they could hear everything we were saying Sharing our stories and this experience with another first time Mummy was amazing. As mothers we are expected to always get things right, even though we are human beings and we all make mistakes. This opportunity was definitely unforgettable and I can’t wait to see the edited videos.

Thank You to ‘The Sun’ for inviting us down, and allowing us to be part of such an amazing idea.


Once the producers have sent me the links to the videos I will definitely post them on my blog, Twitter and Instagram.

Check out my friends amazing blog at:

https://smilesndrool.com/

She also uploads adorable pictures of her daughter on Instagram: @smilesndrool

My Instagram is: @mummydiaries2016

Catch up with us on our Instagram platforms!

 

With Love,

 

Lauren’s Mummy.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

